Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Bol Chumann Panel of Players for Euro Championships 2012



Bol Chumann's panel of players who will represent the Association at the forthcoming European Bowling championships in Pesaro, Italy in mid May, contains the best of the games under-age talent and, in the adult teams, a fine blend of proven medal winners along with several who are making their first appearance at these games. Experience comes in the form of Christy Mullins, a five time medal winner in the Moors and Road disciplines, current European road champion, David Murphy, his brother Aidan who won the last international event in Holland in 2010, Eamonn Bowen (Jun), a gold medal winner in Moors bowling in Holland, Catriona Kidney, gold and silver medal winner in both disciplines since 2000, Kelly Mallon, defending ladies champion on the road, Carmel Ryan and Dervla Toal-Mallon. Edmund Sexton too is a seasoned campaigner and is, of course the son of the Seamus Sexton the only player to have captured gold on the road in successive championships (Jever, Germany, 1974 and Cork, 1977). Adding strength and quality to the senior men's panel are players like Raymond Ryan, James O'Donovan, Killian Kingston, Gary Daly and Armagh men, Conor McGuigan and Brian O'Reilly. Geraldine Daly, Aisling White and Louise Collins do likewise for the senior women. Armagh's Ethan Rafferty, All-Ireland U18 champion, will lead the youths challenge and, with a strong Cork contingent, a first gold on the road since Donal O'Riordan's achievement in 1992, is within their compass. The girl's team has a very youthful look and will face formidable competition from their European counterparts. Louise Daly has been our only gold medal winner since this grades inception in 2000. The panel of players for Italy is Under 18 Girls: Megan Collins, Ciara Buckley, Emma Hickey, Catriona Collins. Under 18 Boys: Cian Boyle, Brian O'Halloran, Cian Shorten, Andrew O'Callaghan, John O'Sullivan, Ethan Rafferty. Senior Ladies: Geraldine Daly, Catriona Kidney, Carmel Ryan, Louise Collins, Aisling White, Dervla Toal-Mallon, Kelly Mallon. Senior Men: David Murphy, Christy Mullins, Gary Daly, Aidan Murphy, Wayne Calnan, Eamonn Bowen (Jun), James O'Donovan, Raymond Ryan, Edmund Sexton, Killian Kingston, Michael Murphy, Conor McGuigan, Brian O'Reilly.